Announcements

Lifeguard Testing

RI State Beaches Hiring Lifeguards
 
Are you looking for a great summer job? Do you have Lifeguard and CPR/First Aid certifications? There may be an opportunity for you to work as a lifeguard at a state beach with the Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management's Division of Parks & Recreation. If you haven't filled out an employment application yet, go here to apply.
 
 
If you've already applied, here's what you need to do to schedule your swim test:
 
 
2. Complete your Lifeguard Certification Profile (click Enroll Now). DO NOT pay the $10 fee when you check out. You will pay the fee by cash or check after you successfully complete your swim exam.
 
3. If you are under 18, download the Waiver, have it signed by a parent or guardian, notarized, and bring it with you to your swim test.
 
4. Schedule your swim test. You can do this on the Program List or you can search for dates on the Calendar. Swim test dates are in red and take place in May, June, and August. 
 
5. For additional details on Lifeguard Exams, read this information or email Tom Rosa
 
IMPORTANT NOTE: THERE ARE TWO TYPES OF CERTIFICATIONS - CONDITIONAL SURF, AND CONDITIONAL NON-SURF. BE SURE TO SIGN UP FOR THE CORRECT TEST.
 
CONDITIONAL NON-SURF TEST DAYS:
  • Wednesday, May 20, 2020
  • Wednesday, June 10, 2020
  • Thursday, June 25, 2020
FULL NON-SURF TEST DAYS:
  • Tuesday, August 11, 2020
  • Wednesday, August 12, 2020
  • Thursday, August 13, 2020
  • Friday, August 14, 2020
 
CONDITIONAL SURF TEST DAYS:
  • Thursday, May 21, 2020
  • Thursday, May 28, 2020
  • Thursday, June 11, 2020
FULL SURF TEST DAYS:
  • Monday, August 3, 2020
  • Tuesday, August 4, 2020
  • Wednesday, August 5, 2020
  • Thursday, August 6, 2020
  • Friday, August 7, 2020